Born 1960 in Baghdad, Iraq 
lives and works in Amersfoort, Netherlands 

He received a Bachelor of Fine Art in Painting and Plastic Art from the Academy of Fine Arts, Baghdad in 1987 and a High Diploma in Graphic Design from CHK Constantijn Huygens, Netherlands in 2000.

Alfraji’s works are housed in numerous private and public collections including the British Museum, London; National Museum of Modern Art, Baghdad; The Art Center, Baghdad; National Gallery of Fine Arts Amman; Shoman Foundation, Amman; Royal Association of Fine Arts, Amman; Novosibirsk State Art Museum, Russia; and the Cluj- Napoca Art Museum, Romania; Los Angeles Country Museum and Museum of Fine Arts, Houston.

Alfraji was named Artist of the Year at the Esquire Middle East Awards in 2012. A monograph on the artist was published by Schilt Publishing, Amsterdam in 2015.  

The artist’s recent solo shows include Ayyam Gallery Beirut; Ayyam Gallery Al Quoz, Dubai; Beirut Exhibition Center; Ayyam Gallery London; Ayyam Gallery DIFC, Dubai; Stads Gallery, Amersfoort, Netherlands; Station Museum, Houston; Stedelijk Museum, Den Bosch.

Selected group exhibitions include TRIO Biennial, Rio de Janeiro; P21 Gallery, London; the British Museum, London; 56th Venice Biennale, Italy; Abu Dhabi Festival, Abu Dhabi; Maraya Art Centre, Sharjah; LACMA, Los Angeles; FotoFest Biennial, Houston; Samsung Blue Square and Busan Museum of Art, South Korea; Ikono On Air Festival, online and broadcasted; Mori Art Museum, Tokyo; Institut du Monde Arabe; Centro Cultural General San Martin, Buenos Aires; Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Algiers; and Mathaf: Arab Museum of Modern Art, Qatar.

more info: 

Artists of the Gallery

Youssef Abdelke

Adel Abidin

John M Armleder

Mojé Assefjah

Martin Assig

Michael Biberstein

Sonja Braas

Ricardo Brey

Franck Christen

Roy Dib

Christian Eckart

Simone Fattal

Chafa Ghaddar

Sigrid Glöerfelt

Gilbert Hage

Herbert Hamak

Aram Jughian

Abdulrahman Katanani

Urs Lüthi

Rania Matar

Randa Mirza

Kevork Mourad

Charlotte Mumm

Nabil Nahas

Serge Najjar

Michelangelo Pistoletto

Giulio Rimondi

Walid Sadek

Charbel Samuel Aoun

Charles Sandison

Adrian Schiess

Bongchull Shin

Catharina van Eetvelde

Stephen Waddell

Fadi Yazigi

Ghassan Zard

Cynthia Zaven